Lolly Rosso

I’ve had some old lolly bottles kicking around at work for some time, waiting for a chance to reuse them in the garden. I was initially thinking cloches for little seedlings but I saw a YouTube video on Facebook of some guy’s hanging garden, made of  waste water bottles and was inspired to do some planting in them.

I was thinking of doing something like the hanging system in the link above but don’t really have anywhere stable enough outside to erect it, so I had to rethink.

I decided to keep the principle of turning plastic bottles into pots for salad leaf and set to work with a stanley knife.

I first knocked some holes in the lids with a hammer and nail. This was tricky, as the plastic lid was very brittle and the holes became cracks. If I had a drill, it would have been very useful at this point! I then turned the bottles upside down (lid down) and cut D-shaped windows in each side with the stanley knife.

I filled the bottles about half full,  to two inches below the bottom of the D-shaped windows, with home made compost and vermiculite. I then sowed some rocket and baby leaf salad mix in them.

Three of the bottle planters are used like normal pots and stand on my table in the garden. I had a bit of wire kicking about in my tool box, so I made a handle for the forth planter, making it an individual hanging version, which can hang on the trampoline frame.

Finally, to protect the roots of the salad from sunlight, I painted the bottom half of the bottles with some blue tile paint that I had kicking around in the shed.

With the remaining plastic above the soil level acting like a mini greenhouse,  the seeds germinated really quickly and all four of the planters are already getting full of little seedlings.

3 thoughts on “Lolly Rosso

  1. Lizzie says:

    love them! thanks Tom – got any spare bottles lying about? I’m using my caravan window as my greenhouse atm – my letttuce seedlings r very happy there but i ‘m on the look out for window boxes now to transplant them in – i’ve made a couple from old bits of wood but hoping to find some disused ready made ones now..
    another good tip is to sow seeds in old toilet roll tubes, this way when they are ready to transplant you just plant the roll and avoid any chance of harming or disturbing the roots! good huh!?

  2. […] really pleased with the progress of both. I’ve already blogged about how to make the salad planters. For the potatoes, I just filled the tyre with compost, planted 4 small seed potatoes in it […]

Leave a Reply

